melb festival

Tickets for the 2014 Melbourne Festival go on sale tomorrow Friday 1 August at 9am!

One of Australia’s best international arts festivals is happening between Friday 10 October and Sunday 26 October 2014 and it includes special programs for kids.  There’s theatre, there music, patient circus and outdoor events to choose from.

Here are my picks for the best shows for under 5s:

Carrousel Des Moutons (Fri 10 Oct – Sun 12 Oct) – Wordless and filled with wonder, Carrousel des Moutons is a spellbinding mix of circus, acrobatics, illusion and piano music from world-renowned performance duo Dirk Van Boxelaere and Fien Van Herwegen, who return to Melbourne on the heels of their 2012 hit show Oh Suivant!

Pepper the Monkey and the Rainbow Circus (Fri 24 Oct) – Aurora Orchestra presents a magical blend of storytelling, theatre and classical music in this special series of performances for children under 5.

Primo  (Wed 15 Oct – Sun 19 Oct) – Imagination and wonder take centrestage in PRIMO, an underwater spectacle created especially for the creative minds of 2–5 year olds.

Grasslands (Sat 11 Oct – Sun 23 Nov) – Melbourne artist and Library Fellow Linda Tegg orchestrates Grasslands, a grand meditation on nature versus culture at the State Library of Victoria. Working with experts at Burnley Agricultural College, Tegg selected a plethora of specially grown native plants and grasses with which to restore the imposing stone forecourt of the Library to an imagined primordial wilderness. FREE.

The Way of Gunqin (Fri 17 Oct – Sat 18 Oct) – The Salon of the Melbourne Recital Centre transforms into an exhibition and workshop space, as the Jun Tian Yun He Ensemble share the artistry and aesthetics that lie at the very heart of Chinese culture. FREE.

Framed Movements (Fri 10 Oct – Sun 26 Oct) –  an intriguing investigation into the potential that lies at the shifting boundaries between art forms. FREE.

Golden Mirror Carousel  (Fri 10 OCt – Mar 2015) the spectacular life-size Golden Mirror Carousel offers visitors to Federation Court a powerfully different physical and mental encounter than its traditional fairground counterpart. FREE.

Pick and mix 3 or more events and save 15% off tickets.

Related posts:

Share this article now!Email this to someonePrint this pageShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on Tumblr